Weekly Writing Challenge – A picture is worth 1,000 words

A brick. A photogenic brick. I was a photogenic brick in a past incarnation. How many past incarnations ago, I am not sure. I only remember a few of them. But I remember this one. This one in which I was a brick. A red brick. A red brick in a wall. But not just any wall. Not just another brick in just another wall.

A dark red brick. I was a dark red brick in a wall of red bricks. Lighter red bricks. I was a dark red brick in a wall of light red bricks.

A long brick. A long brick in a wall of mostly short bricks. A long dark red brick in a wall of mostly short light red bricks.

Not just another brick in the wall. Never just another brick in the wall.

A bottom brick. The bottom-most brick in the short wall. The third from the left. The bottom-most brick. The third from the left in the bottom-most row. The foundation row.

The longest darkest red brick in the bottom-most row.

As you can see, not just another brick in the wall. And next to me, a whole row of short light red bricks on edge. Always on edge. That’s what I do. Put others on edge. Regardless of my incarnation, I put you on edge.

A brick. A dark red brick. A long dark red brick in the bottom-most row. Not just another brick in the wall.

In the wall. A wall on edge. On edge.

On edge.

Don’t be just another.

The above is a work of fiction for the weekly writing challenge. It’s a lot of fun! To join in or see how other bloggers interpret the challenge you can find out more here.

82 comments

  1. very nice take on the challenge! i enjoyed reading this, and very honestly i can imagine the character in the middle thinking out loud (so to speak) what you wrote…

    1. Thanks for the comment. I had fun writing this. I developed that style with my first book, Becomes the Happy Man. I’m trying to use it more frequently in writing other than my novels.

  2. Most of my 11th graders were so far behind .The Miami Dade school system trained many teacher to be reading and writing teachers using their subject matter . Used to put some picture of interest on the board and have them write 3 paragraphs: What is going on? How did it come about? How will it end? The story was inconsequential. I would call them up one at a time and proof read and correct word by word for rewrite. I think it was the most important activity I ever did. Certainly more important than learning history.

  3. “All in all, you’re just another brick in the wall.” I, too, thought of Pink Floyd. Love the clever puns.You are definitely not just another, Rick.

    1. Thanks! Just start singing itsy bitsy teeny weenie yellow polka dot bikini and you’ll forget all about this other song…I don’t know how you’ll get rid of that one though… 🙂

  4. Wow, definitely unusual. I don’t guess there would be many people who would look at that picture and choose to write about a brick, much less in the first person. My first reaction was to wonder why the man and the children all look so miserable!
    Thanks for stopping by and following my blog.

    1. That’s funny. It makes me think about the writing and how dependent it is on the photo. I’ll keep that in mind when I write future stories based on a photo. Thanks for the comment!

  5. Very interesting and very out of the box… or in this case out of the wall :).. Loved your unique perspective.. My apologies for commenting on this so late. Having just joined the community have a lot of catching up to do..

  6. This is really good! I am aspiring comic book artist, author, and astronomer. (I don’t see how astronomer fits in there, but whatever.) It would be great to have some advice on writing. Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

